Minimum Sentences for DUI Convictions in Florida

DUI Defense Attorneys in Tallahassee

If you have been charged with DUI, it is important to retain legal help. The Tallahassee DUI attorneys at Brooks, LeBoeuf, Bennett, Foster & Gwartney, P.A. have been serving the community for 30 years, and have over 50 years of combined experience in DUI and BUI defense. Our team can help you understand the impact being charged will have on your life and explain the minimum sentences for DUI convictions in Florida

Minimum Sentencing

Depending on whether this is your first, second, or third DUI conviction, the minimum sentences are outlined in Florida statutes, Chapter 316.193 as follows:

DUI First Conviction:

  • Adjudication of guilt
  • A fine not less than $500 or more than $1,000
  • Imprisonment not more than 6 months
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 6 months
  • DUI Level I School and any required counseling
  • Probation not to exceed 12 months
  • A minimum of 50 hours of community service
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension
  • 10-day vehicle impound

DUI Second Conviction:

  • Adjudication of guilt
  • A fine not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 1 year
  • 10-day minimum imprisonment if the second conviction occurs within 5 years of the first, and not to exceed 9 months
  • DUI Level II School and any required counseling
  • Probation not to exceed 12 months
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension
  • 30-day vehicle impound

DUI Third Conviction:

  • Possible felony conviction if the offense occurs within 10 years of the second conviction
  • Fine amount no less than $2,000 or more than $5,000
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 2 years
  • 30-day minimum imprisonment if the third conviction occurs within 10 years of the second, but not to exceed 12 months
  • Probation for a minimum of 24 months
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension

If you’ve been charged with DUI, call the Tallahassee DUI attorneys at Brooks, LeBoeuf, Bennett, Foster & Gwartney, P.A. today for a free initial case evaluation: (850) 222-2032

Testimonials

  • You have been such a great attorney and I appreciate your help.

    - Mina, Gautam & Shiv

  • Knowing that the legal aspect of this nightmare is in the hands of someone

    - David

  • I do know that I won’t have to struggle financially and for that I will always be grateful

    - Patty

  • Thank you for all that you did.

    - Jenna

  • Words cannot express the gratitude

    - Jason

  • I will always remember this and his professionalism

    - D. Wu

Prev Next

you have too much at stake not to call us.

    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.
Put Us On Your Side