Tallahassee Office

(850)-222-2000

West Palm Beach Office

Coming January 2023!

PRACTICE AREAS

Minimum Sentences For DUI Convictions

DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEYS IN TALLAHASSEE

If you have been charged with DUI, it is vital that you retain legal help as soon as possible. At Brooks, LeBoeuf, Foster, Gwartney & Hobbs we have been serving the community for years in the area of DUI and BUI defense. Our Florida DUI attorneys can help you understand the impact that being charged will have on your life and explain the minimum sentences for DUI convictions in Florida

MINIMUM SENTENCING

The minimum sentences for a first, second, and third DUI charge are outlined in the Florida statutes, Chapter 316.193 as follows:
DUI First Conviction:

  • Adjudication of guilt
  • A fine not less than $500 or more than $1,000
  • Imprisonment not more than 6 months
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 6 months
  • DUI Level I School and any required counseling
  • Probation not to exceed 12 months
  • A minimum of 50 hours of community service
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension
  • 10-day vehicle impound

DUI Second Conviction:

  • Adjudication of guilt
  • A fine not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 1 year
  • 10-day minimum imprisonment if the second conviction occurs within 5 years of the first, and not to exceed 9 months
  • DUI Level II School and any required counseling
  • Probation not to exceed 12 months
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension
  • 30-day vehicle impound

DUI Third Conviction:

  • Possible felony conviction if the offense occurs within 10 years of the second conviction
  • Fine amount no less than $2,000 or more than $5,000
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed in the person’s vehicle for at least 2 years
  • 30-day minimum imprisonment if the third conviction occurs within 10 years of the second, but not to exceed 12 months
  • Probation for a minimum of 24 months
  • Court-ordered driver’s license suspension
FREE INITIAL CASE EVALUATION
You have too much at stake to face your DUI charge alone. Let our experienced DUI attorneys guide you through the process. If you have been charged, call our office today to schedule your free initial case evaluation!