Drivers under 21 years of age can face serious consequences for having an alcohol-related suspension on their driving record. If your child is underage and provides a breath sample above .02 (BAC), their driver’s license will be suspended for a period of 6 months. The suspension will be increased to a period of a year if they refuse to provide a breath sample. Both penalties are effective immediately.
At Brooks, LeBoeuf, Foster & Gwartney our criminal defense lawyers understand the impact that these charges and suspensions can have on the lives of the accused. We are ready to assess your child’s case and pursue every viable legal avenue toward securing a favorable outcome.
Our Florida underage drinking attorneys can file the necessary paperwork to challenge your child’s license suspension and get a temporary driving permit for them to be able to commute to work, school, church, or medical appointments. However, bear in mind they only have 10 days from the time of their issued citation to challenge their suspension with the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles.
Alongside these steps, our legal team will also immediately file paperwork with the Florida Department of Highway & Safety Motor Vehicles and obtain a hearing to determine whether the officer complied with the rules when your license was taken. A successful judgment in your child’s favor will result in the citation being removed from their driving record, but they only have 10 days to get the paperwork filed to be able to have the hearing.